Book Chapter on Game Festivals!

Alright, time for the big reveal after months and months of silence.

For the past year I’ve been interviewing people involved in game and play festivals (Indiecade, Come Out & Play, Playpublik, w00t, Playful Arts Festival, etc.) and writing about them. The festivals usually involve indie video games, but also all kinds of other physical / street games, which I think is really exciting. And they all appeared seemingly out of the blue in the past ten years, so I was wondering what the heck was going on.

image
Me and others playing a game in Krakow, Poland at Playpublik in 2014.

I started out thinking it could be an article for Gamasutra, like my other one about characters and worldbuilding in Japanese game design, but through a series of unlikely events it turned into a chapter for a book called Examining the Evolution of Gaming and Its Impact on Social, Cultural, and Political Perspectives.

My chapter recently got final approval for publication, so you can check it out in print some time next year! (No details on the exact date yet…)

And NOW I can finally get back to some other writing…like this blog for example! I’ve been wanting to write about Harvest Moon 64, Ecco the Dolphin, and Wiz ‘n’ Liz for awhile, so I’ll get on those ASAP in the coming months.

Sorry again for the silence lately, but I hope the chapter makes up for it. And now I look forward to some shorter and more focused blog writing. 🙂

This entry was posted in American, Console, European, Game Design, General, Physical, Site-related, Social Gaming, Western and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

