PS2 Red Alert

I’m afraid I have a fully functioning means of playing PS2 games… Bye bye, spare time. Magna Carta 2 didn’t seem to work, but I think it may just be the copy I have.

So that means I’m taking recommendations of PS2 games to play. I think I have played pretty much every SNES RPG ever made, and the highlights of PS1, so now it is finally time for me to move onto games released after the year 2000… Someday I will play a modern game (Skyrim is the only PS3 game I’ve ever played so far…).

Also, that MP post was fun and got an amazing number of informative replies, so I think I’ll continue with similar posts about alternative magic systems (instead of fire & ice) and leveling systems. Weee, can’t wait!

But first, Playpublik! I will be playing real life games at Playpublik October 3-5 in Krakow, and in Nottingham, UK from October 25-27 at Game City. Wish me luck and join me if you can! 🙂

This entry was posted in American, Console, Game Design, General, Japanese, Playstation, RPG, Site-related, SNES, Western and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PS2 Red Alert

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think you might enjoy Ar tonelico 1, if you haven’t seen it. It’s by the developers who made one of my favourite games (Mana Khemia), so I do have that bias, but it’s got a lot of really unique stuff. Having finally gotten decent at adding RPG elements to their games, they pulled out all the stops and made an epic RPG that wasn’t part of their flagship series, and it’s pretty different from the norm.

    I always feel compelled to apologize for its being even more sexist than the average JRPG, shuttling beyond that level into outright dating-sim teeth-hurting cliche sexism. But if one can grit their teeth and endure the bromides and protect-fragile-women attitudes, there are some things that make the game really worth seeing: the party composition, the encounter gauge, etc; as well as magic being essentially a gauge-building special attack for every spell. And I won’t spoil the ending, but it deals with the last boss in a really surprising way for RPGs.

    The two sequels also each had brand-new battle elements that changed the gameplay in interesting ways, but in my opinion the series got steadily more cliche until it didn’t feel like it was delivering anything new anymore.

Leave a Reply

