Trying out New Types of Posts

I have a few ideas for new approaches I want to try on the blog besides the world-breakdown model I’ve been using. It should free me up to highlight some specific aspects of games and their worlds.

One is to focus on how to improve a single mechanic that appears in one or more games. Kinda like open-brainstorming about fun new twists on old mechanics.

Another is to do an overview of a whole series of games at once to see what common threads there are between their worlds and approaches to worldbuilding- what worked well and what didn’t (Romancing Saga for example).

77f81adbfcfe33bf9002c3f35ac9ac90
Romancing Saga 3 on SNES

images
Romancing Saga on PS2

I’m still planning to do the old format sometimes, just wanna mix things up for variety. As always let me know what you think so I can keep things fresh and interesting!

On a side note, I haven’t had time to play much lately besides Nethergate (and that was awhile ago), but I did play some “Super Mario 3D World Wii U.” Both it and “New Super Mario Brothers Wii” are incredibly fresh and amusing throughout. They quickly turn into a slapstick series of trial and error and laughs when played with a friend (which is the only way I played), and I was pretty blown away by both from beginning to end.

This entry was posted in Game Design, General, Japanese, Platformer, Site-related, Wii and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

