Welcome to Game Make World

"The Magic School" in Paladin's Quest for the SNES

“The Magic School” in Paladin’s Quest for the SNES

Inspired by “What Games Are” and my soon-to-be-published article on Gamasutra about “sekaikan” and the way Japanese video game developers craft games’ worlds, I decided to try launching my own blog. Like Tadhg Kelly of What Games Are, I believe that game developers are essentially world-makers. Yet there doesn’t seem to be much discussion of the ways that games succeed or fail in creating a world. Analysis and discussion focuses on traditional (yet vague and inappropriate) categories like “story” and “gameplay,” instead on the most important part of games- the world.

So, in this blog I’ll look at how individual games go about about creating a world, what and what doesn’t, in as concrete and practical terms as possible. I know I’m not the most experienced game developer out there, but no one else is doing this as far as I know, so I hope I can at least start some discussion.

This entry was posted in General, Site-related. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to Game Make World

  1. wylliamjudd says:

    I think that story and gameplay are two of the most powerful tools for expressing a game’s world.

    • wzackw says:

      They are powerful tools, but I think all the other elements that go into a game are just as important for creating the game’s world.

Leave a Reply

